The Perthshire Historical Writing Award


The Perthshire Advertiser and Tippermuir Books are pleased to announce the Perthshire Historical Writing Award. The theme of the writing competition is any aspect of the history of Perthshire. Submissions should be no more than one thousand words in length; non-fiction; not have been published previously; and adhere to the theme of ‘Perthshire History’. Entry is free and open to all.

The judging panel for the award comprises the three directors of Tippermuir Books alongside Melanie Bonn (journalist with the Perthshire Advertiser), Ajay Close (award-winning journalist and historical novelist), Dr Nicola Martin (Lecturer in History at the University of Highlands & Islands) and Taylor Waggoner (creative practitioner and founder of Perth’s Women).

Submissions should be emailed as PDFs or WORD documents to by 12 noon on Friday, 8 April 2022. Emails should include the writer’s name, postal address and the title of their piece of writing – the subject line should be ‘Perthshire Historical Writing Award’.

Any queries relating to the Perthshire Historical Writing Award should be directed to the organisers via the email address above.

A shortlist of the best six entries and the winning entry will be announced on Friday, 6 May 2022. The winner will receive book vouchers to the value of £150 (donated by Tippermuir Books) and have their entry published in the Perthshire Advertiser. All shortlisted entries will be published on the Tippermuir Books website.
Full terms and rules can be found on the Tippermuir website:

Tippermuir Books is a Perth-based publisher producing fiction and non-fiction titles, generally of a Scottish theme, and several covering the history of Perthshire. If Rivers Could Sing: A Scottish River Wildlife Journey by Keith Broomfield was shortlisted in the 2021 Scotland’s National Book Awards (Saltire Awards) as ‘New Book of the Year’. The company have had two books shortlisted in recent Scots Language Awards – The Tale of the Wee Mowdie and The Nicht Afore Christmas - and one of its writers, Stuart Paterson, was named Scots Writer of the Year in 2020.

Terms & Rules
• The Perthshire Historical Writing Award is open to all without geographical or age restriction and irrespective of whether entrants are published or unpublished writers.
• Entries must be no more than 1000 words in length.
• Entries must be submitted as PDFs or WORD files.
• Only one entry per entrant.
• Submissions will be judged on literary and historical merit, originality and readability.
• Copyright remains with the author but the author agrees to the publication of the winning entry in the Perthshire Advertiser and the shortlisted entries on
• Entrants will not receive any information regarding the reasoning behind why their entry was, or was, not chosen.
• No disputes or communications will be entered into regarding the results of any submissions.
• Any work found to be plagiarised, hateful, gratuitous or offensive may be disqualified at the judge’s discretion.
• Entrants agree to allow their work to be proofed and any spelling or serious grammatical errors corrected before publication.
• Submission of a written piece implies the entrant’s acceptance of the ‘Terms and Rules’.
• The book voucher will be sent to the winning entrant on publication of the winning entry in the Perthshire Advertiser.

To Latest News page