Old Edinburgh Club
THE OLD EDINBURGH CLUB (OEC) was founded in 1908, under the patronage of the Lord Provost, Magistrates and the Council of the City of Edinburgh.
The objectives of the Club are the study and support of all aspects of the history of Edinburgh, and the promotion and encouragement of interest in Edinburgh by means of lectures, visits, publications and appropriate activities for public benefit. Monthly talks and lectures are organised each winter, typically followed by guided tours and visits during the summer.
Membership is open to everyone interested in the objects of the Club. All members receive a copy of all works published.
The Club publishes annually an authoritative journal, the Book of the Old Edinburgh Club. Copies of older back numbers are available for download on the Club’s website, and recent volumes via the ‘Books and CDs’ section of the SLHF website.
The OEC has also produced a comprehensive online Bibliography of Edinburgh History, available via the Club’s website. This brings together a remarkable collection of more than 2,000 items – books, chapters, journal articles, and dissertations – covering the rich heritage of the city.